No products in the basket.

The Essential Guide Magazine > News > Warrington Borough Council’s New Executive Board confirmed

Warrington Borough Council’s New Executive Board confirmed

Warrington Borough Council Logo

Warrington Borough Council’s Executive Board has been refreshed, with a new deputy leader confirmed, along with a new board member for culture and partnerships.

Leader of the council, Cllr Terry O’Neill, confirmed the new executive board, and their roles and responsibilities, at the Full Council annual meeting on Monday 22 May.

Cllr Russ Bowden has been named as deputy leader – a role he will carry out whilst continuing in his position of executive board member for corporate finance, overseeing areas including revenue budget, the capital programme, property and service modernisation.

Cllr Dan Price has been selected to join the Executive Board as executive board with responsibility for culture and partnerships. Also chair of the board heading-up Warrington’s City of Culture 2021 bid, Cllr Price’s responsibilities will include culture, arts, major events, volunteering and tourism in the borough.  He will also oversee the delivery of the major investment in the town centre.

 The remaining members of the executive board will retain their existing roles and responsibilities, as follows:

•          Cllr Jean Carter – children’s services, including schools, education strategy, youth services and looked after children.

•          Cllr Judith Guthrie – environment and public protection, including urban policy, community safety, climate change, waste and environment, regulation and protection services.

•          Cllr Tony Higgins – leisure and community, including neighbourhoods, leisure, parks and open spaces, libraries and museums.

•          Cllr Maureen McLaughlin – public health and wellbeing, including public health, housing, welfare reform, homelessness and the third sector.

•          Cllr Hans Mundry – highways, transportation and public realm, including roads and highways, transport planning, street lighting and public realm management.

•          Cllr Hitesh Patel – personnel and communications, including customer contact, policy and performance, internal and external communications and personnel matters.

•          Cllr Pat Wright – statutory health and adult social care, including overseeing developments in statutory health and adult social care, NHS liaison and planned integration with the Council.

 Cllr Terry O’Neill will continue to combine his role as leader with his role as lead for business engagement, major developments, inward investment, economic development, employment, apprenticeships and the town centre strategy.

Related posts

Leave a comment